Ian Walton

Public Member, Chair

Dr. Ian Walton has served since 2013. He has 33 years’ teaching experience and is a Faculty Emeritus in Mathematics from Mission College with experience in faculty staff development, basic skills, and educational technology. A former Fulbright Scholar and winner of the California Community College Chancellor’s Office Hayward Award, and Excellence in Technology Leadership Award, Dr. Walton holds Ph.D. and M.A. degrees from University of California, Santa Cruz, and a B.S. in Pure Mathematics from University of St. Andrews, Scotland. He is a former President of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. He serves on the Evaluation and Planning Committee, and was a member of the Standards Review Committee during the ACCJC’s recent review of Standards. He has served on 10 evaluation teams, seven of those comprehensive evaluations.

Sonya Christian

Administrative Member, Vice Chair

Dr. Sonya Christian began her service in 2015. She is the President of Bakersfield College. She has served on two comprehensive evaluation teams and chaired a team in 2015. Dr. Christian has extensive experience on the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities as team member and team chair while serving in various leadership roles at Lane Community College in Oregon. Dr. Christian holds a B.S. from the University of Kerala in India; an M.S. from the University of Southern California; and a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Dr. Mary A.Y. Okada

Mary A.Y. Okada

Pacific Postsecondary Education Council Member, Secretary/Treasurer

Dr. Mary Okada began her service in 2014. She represents the Pacific Postsecondary Education Council on the Commission. She serves as chairperson of the PPEC, a council of presidents and chancellors of institutions of American Samoa, the Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, the Commonweath of Northern Marianas Islands, Palau, the Marshall Islands, and the State of Hawaii that addresses regional and post-secondary education issues. Dr. Okada has been the president at Guam Community College since 2007, and has served on several ACCJC accreditation teams. She holds a B.A. in Business Administration and a Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Guam, and a doctorate in Educational Leadership from the University of Phoenix.

Randy Beach

Academic Member

Mr. John Randy Beach began his service in 2018. He is Professor of English and Education at Southwestern College. He holds an M.A. in English from the University of Charleston, a B.A. in English from the College of Charleston, and a B.A. in Journalism and Mass Communications from the University of South Carolina.  He has served on three comprehensive evaluation teams since 2015 and has been involved in the creation of Southwestern College’s ISERs since 2009. He served three years as a member of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) Executive Committee and is a past chair of the ASCCC Accreditation and Assessment Committee. He has served as the Academic Senate President and the Institutional Program Review and Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator for Southwestern and is currently the Southwestern Curriculum Committee faculty co-chair.

Dr. Kevin Bontenbal

Kevin Bontenbal

Academic Member

Dr. Kevin Bontenbal began his service in 2015. Dr. Bontenbal is the Instructional Technology Librarian at Cuesta College. He has served on five comprehensive evaluation teams since 2006 and has been involved in accreditation at Cuesta College where he also serves as President of the Academic Senate. Dr. Bontenbal holds two B.A. degrees in Philosophy and in Religious Studies from California State University, Chico; a Master of Library Science from Syracuse University; a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from the University of California, Santa Barbara; and a Certificate in Online Teaching from the University of California, Los Angeles.