

ACCREDITING COMMISSION FOR COMMUNITY AND JUNIOR COLLEGES

Date:April 24, 2023To:Chief Executive Officers of ACCJC Accredited InstitutionsFrom:The ACCJC Nominating Committee:Commission Representatives
Erika Lacro, Committee Chair; David Broad; Barbara Dunsheath; and
Mary A.Y. OkadaMember Institution Representatives
Cheryl Aschenbach, Sonny J. Leomiti, Vince Rodriguez, and Duncan SuttonSubject:Proposed Slate of Candidates and Notice to Nominate At-Large Candidates

The Nominating Committee of the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) conferred on April 20, 2023, to review the applications of individuals who applied to fill vacant Commissioner positions and to develop a slate of candidates for election to the Commission.

The Committee nominated three people from among the five new applicants for the academic member and additional category 1 member positions on the Commission, who will be placed on the Slate of Candidates:

Nathaniel Jones, III – Interim Vice Chancellor, Finance & Administration, Peralta CCD; Additional Article III, Category 1 Member

Kim Morrison – Instructor/Equity, Diversity, Outreach and Inclusion Librarian, Chabot College; Academic Member

Jeff Stearns – Professor, Honolulu Community College; Academic Member

The Committee also nominated two current members of the Commission who are eligible to serve a second three-year term because those individuals demonstrated excellent work as ACCJC Commissioners:

Jennifer Vega La Serna – Incumbent; Assistant Superintendent/Vice President, Academic Services, College of the Sequoias; Chief Instructional Officer Member

Michael Zimmerman – Incumbent; President, Campus (formerly known as MTI College); Independent Institutions Member Finally, the Committee confirmed the nominations made by three affiliate organizations to be added to the slate:

Daisy Gonzales – Incumbent eligible for reelection, nominated by the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office (CCCCO)

Ralph Hexter – nominated by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) **Rosevonne Makaiwi-Pato** – nominated by the Pacific Postsecondary Education Council (PPEC)

A brief biography of each candidate is <u>available HERE</u>. All Commissioners elected in June of 2023 will serve a three-year term from July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026.

At-Large Candidates

Under the <u>ACCJC Bylaws, Article IV, Section 5</u>, to be added as an at-large candidate, an individual must receive the written endorsement of ten (10) or more chief executive officers. The Nominating Committee will determine the eligibility of any at-large nominees to serve on the Commission. Eligible at-large nominees will be placed on the ballot in competition with the proposed slate candidates.

At-large nominees interested in serving on the Commission must complete the <u>ACCJC At-large</u> <u>Nominee Form</u>, where they will also upload a copy of their curriculum vitae, and a single compiled PDF file of each of the ten or more completed <u>CEO endorsement forms</u> by **5:00 p.m. PDT, Friday, May 5, 2023.** For questions, please email **Alexandra Spring**, Communications Director at <u>communications@accjc.org</u>.

After the Committee confirms the eligibility of an at-large nominee, a final ballot will be emailed to the CEOs of each ACCJC-accredited institution for their vote. The Commission expects to email the ballots the week of May 15, 2023. The results of the election will be announced at the Open Session of the June Commission meeting.