Commission Election Process 2017-04-18T11:16:32+00:00

Commission Election Process

Commission Election Process

  • There are 19 Commissioners, and they are elected for staggered, three-year terms. Each sitting Commissioner may be elected to a second three-year term.
  • At its January meeting, the Commission will announce the identities of departing Commissioners, the names of Commissioners seeking a second term, and the types of Commissioner positions that are becoming vacant and to which individuals may be elected or sitting Commissioners may be elected to a second term.
  • The Commission will send a letter to the field announcing the Commissioner positions becoming vacant, accompanied by an invitation for applications and nominations for Commissioner positions that are becoming vacant. The announcement will be widely distributed and posted on the Commission’s website.
  • A Nominating Committee, selected by the Commission’s Executive Committee and comprised of four Commissioners and four persons representing member institutions, will review applications for Commissioner positions and create a slate of candidates for the vacant Commissioner positions.
  • The President/Chancellor of each institution accredited by the ACCJC will be asked to review the slate and may nominate alternative candidates through the process described in the Bylaws.
  • Each May, the slate of candidates, with any additional alternative candidates, will be sent to the President/Chancellor of each institution accredited by the ACCJC. The President/Chancellor will vote for the slate candidate or the alternative candidate for each Commissioner position becoming vacant.
  • Each June, the results of the Election will be announced at the Commission’s meeting and thereafter made public on the Commission’s website and in its summary of the June meeting contained in its newsletter.
  • New Commissioner terms begin on November 1 of each year.

Nominating Committee

In accordance ACCJC Bylaws, the Executive Committee of the Commission has appointed the following persons to the Commission’s Nominating Committee:


Karolyn Hanna, Committee Chair, Public Member, Term: 2016 and 2017
Timothy C. Brown, Riverside City College, Academic Member, Term: 2016 and 2017
Sonya Christian, Bakersfield College, Administrative Member, Term: 2016 and 2017
Richard Mahon, Allan Hancock College Academic Member, Term: 2017 and 2018


Frank Chong, Superintendent/President – Santa Rosa Junior College, Term: 2016 and 2017
Julie Bruno, Instructor, Communication Studies – Sierra College; President –Academic Senate for California Community Colleges, Term: 2017 and 2018
Kathleen Burke, President – Los Angeles Pierce College, Term 2017 and 2018
Cheryl Marshall, Chancellor – North Orange County Community College District, Term: 2017 and 2018
Matthew Wetstein, Assistant Superintendent and Vice President of Instruction and Planning – San Joaquin Delta College, Term 2017 & 2018

© Copyright  The Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges